Holiday houses, villas, apartment, hotels and more

We need your travel dates to give you the best available offers

Australian Capitol Territory - ACT

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT), meaning as much as Australian government territory, is an enclave in the national territory of New South Wales.

Both Melbourne and Sydney desired to be capital city, and since no agreement was reached, the capital was meant to be established in a neutral area.

Initially the ACT was called Federal Capital Territory (FCT). In the year 1909 New South Wales transferred the area to the Australian Commonwealth.
Urban planning was tendered as competition in 1911, which Walter Burley Griffin won. The name of Canberra was given to the capital at the official building start on March 12, 1913.

The Federal Capital Territory was formally renamed to Australian Capital Territory in 1938. On May 9, 1927 the seat of government changed from the previous capital Melbourne to Canberra and moved to the provisional parliament.

Today the old parliament building "Old Parliament House" as well as the new parliament house's captivating modern architecture are worth seeing in the Australian Capital Territory.


Australia's capital Canberra is still a young city. In 1911 the government of the Australian confederation of states acquired possession of the...


Melbourne Cup Timetable 2009
Melbourne Cup Timetable. The Melbourne Cup 2009 is held at 3. November 2009. Find the Timetable for all races here.
Melbourne Cup 2008
The Melbourne Cup is the most important Australian thoroughbred horse racing. In 2008 the Emirates Melbourne Cup 2008 takes place at 4.11.2008 at 15:00 local time in Melbourne.
Russian flag on Mount Kosciuszko
Russian climber Alexey Kuzminykh and his team of alpinists reached Australia's highest mountain peak, Mt. Kosciuszko at 2228 m, where the Sochi 2014 flag now flies.